CIPH announces winner of 2020 Joseph K. Seidner Award

Toronto, ON — The Canadian Institute of Plumbing and Heating (CIPH) announced that the 20th recipient of the Joseph K. Seidner Award is Henri Bouchard, director of technical Services, CMMTQ.
The presentation took place virtually at the recent annual Canadian Advisory Council on Plumbing (CACP) meeting.
The award is in recognition of Bouchard’s outstanding contributions to Canadian plumbing codes and standards.
“It is a great honour to receive this award alongside such an exceptional group of past recipients,” stated Bouchard. “It has always been natural for me to dedicate my efforts to the advancement of the plumbing and HVAC industry. This is why this recognition was definitely unexpected. I sincerely thank the committee for presenting me this prestigious award.”
Bouchard has been director of technical Services at the CMMTQ for more than 15 years. As part of his mandate, he and his team oversee the interpretation and explanation of the Articles of the Codes governing building mechanics. In addition to writing articles and technical guides, he participates in writing courses in building mechanics. Bouchard also participates in various provincial committees of the RBQ and sits on the Standing Committee on Plumbing and Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning of the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) and national committees of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA).
“Mr. Bouchard is a worthy and dedicated individual and shares the same remarkable qualities fundamental to all the Joseph Seidner recipients with traits such as commitment, perseverance, tenacity, persistence and a willingness to share their expertise,” said Kevin Ernst, chair of the Plumbing & Mechanical Advisory Council (PMAC). “He has made a substantial contribution to our national mode codes system over the years and is now the Chair of the Standing Committee on Heating and Plumbing. He has brought the important perspective of the mechanical trades to PMAC, and to CACP for which we are very appreciative.”
The award was established by the CIPH Board of Directors in November 2000 to honour Joseph K. Seidner, the first recipient and an industry leader and friend of CIPH.
2020 Joseph K. Seidner Award winner, Henri Bouchard, director of technical Services, CMMTQ. (CIPH)